Let’s Get Lost

Maybe it was timing, or maybe it was the way Leila was so relatable, or maybe it was just that fate is accurately scary in placing things in front of you. Maybe it was me trying to find comfort in something different than people, or maybe it was the way I was so done with everyone. It was about time I stopped looking for someone and started to find myself, or rather, lose myself. Maybe it was the way Leila was short, like myself, and had curly hair, awfully true in me too, and was desperate to make something out of herself, is this not talking about me? Are you sure? Maybe it was the egocentric idea of reading a book almost no one had read.

Five stories intertwine because of a girl, who, bravely, stepped out of her comfort zone and started trusting, not others, not fate, herself. Love, fear, reality, and death bind people together, in epic ways. I have always believed that there is more to a person than the story they are willing to take, it is also in the way they let others hitchhike in their car not knowing if they are crazy murderers, or the way tuesday is equally as exciting as friday, perhaps in the way they misplace things, and how they cope with each. In a way we are all trying to find a meaning in life, even if this is written among the sky, in the Northern Lights. So go on then, get lost in the book, because you will find a piece of yourself you thought you lost when that 6 year old grew up.

Find yourself in a place of insecureness, for you will always feel dared and risky; find yourself in a place where love is not easy to achieve, yet exists; find yourself seeking for nothing. I truly didn’t know what to expect from the book, honestly, as a 17-year old girl I thought the cover was pretty. I never expected to find reason in the way Hudson realizes he doesn’t want to follow his Dad’s dream, or in the way Bree finds her misplaced love in running away, or in the way Elliot was too caught up in fantasy when reality hit him in the face, or how Sonia got in the trunk of a car just to carry two rings across the border. I can’t quite put to words the peacefulness I felt throughout discovering my real intentions and possibly, even discovered the meaning to my life. Who knows, maybe you will too.

-PM

Leave a comment